Cooking with Alex #1-Chicken Taquitos

Standard

Okay so I really enjoy cooking and I love finding new recipes to try. I decided that any time they turned out well, I was going to share it with everybody else. Tonight I made these:

IMG_0500

I usually find the recipes through pinterest but they are always for more than 4 people, so the main point of this is to teach people how to make these for themselves.

HERE WE GO.

(Here is the real recipe, this is just my single serving spin on it.)

BEFORE YOU DO ANYTHING ELSE

  • Preheat oven to 325
  • Get yourself a chicken breast.
  • Cut off the ick.
  • Grab some foil and spray it with cooking spray.
  • Wrap up the chicken in the foil, put in a pan and stick in the oven for 30 minutes (you can flip it half way through but I don’t think it matters)
  • Don’t worry if it’s a smidge under done, it’ll cook more when it’s in the taquito.
  • Tear it into shreds as big as you’d like.

WHAT YOU NEED

  • Shredded chicken (enough for 2 taquitos)
  • 1 oz Cream cheese
  • 2 small flour tortillas (idk if corn tortillas will be different because they are gross and I don’t eat those)
  • Mozzarella (however much you want)
  • 2 tbs. of butter
  • garlic powder
  • seasoning of choice (the recipe says cajun but I just used a blend I already had, I don’t think it matters)
  • salsa
  • milk
  • vegetable oil

WHAT TO DO

  • Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
  • In a small sauce pot over medium low heat, melt butter.
  • Add seasoning. Stir to combine and cook for 1 minute.
  • Add cream cheese and stir until melted and completely combined with butter and spices.
  • Wisk in hot sauce (about a tablespoon) and milk (also about a tablespoon) and simmer for ~3 minutes. Add salt to taste.
  • Combine chicken and sauce.
  • Lay out a tortillas; fill partially with chicken and top with mozzarella.
  • Tightly roll up taquito (I put a toothpick in mine to keep it shut. Just remember to take it out so you don’t die.) and place on a greased baking sheet.
  • Brush taquitos with vegetable oil on all sides.
  • Bake for about 15 minutes; rotate the taquitos about every 3-5 minutes, until each side is golden brown.
  • ENJOY

I’m gonna try to do these at least once a week but I’m not that reliable and I’m also a poor college kid so I don’t always have the stuff to make cool things.

Leave a Reply

