Don’t Let Irrationality Be A Life Sentence

Standard

I’ve been avoiding writing this post because I get worked up just thinking about it, which is probably irrational. Oh the irony! Bear with me while I go on a rant.

If you’ve been reading this blog for a while, or actually know me, then you’ll know that I work at a movie theatre. Needless to say, the shooting in Colorado was a topic for some of the people I had to deal with the week after it happened. The problem I have with those people, and people in general, is how irrational they are. I had one specific interaction that left me really pissed off, which is what I want to share with you.

I was working on a Thursday night and I had a man come up to me and tell me that he just got done watching Batman and that he saw a man walk in with a “large shoulder bag.” He told me he was afraid the whole time he was watching his movie and he asked me why I would let him in here with a bag. I explained to him that I can’t legally check someone’s bag and that we, as a company, don’t have a policy on not bringing bags into the building. He told me that that was ridiculous and that it was illogical, given everything that’s happened; with that, he walked away shaking his head. I’m going to break this down step by step for you and tell you what I wanted to say, because I wanted to go off on this guy. However, that would be frowned upon by my boss.

  1. First of all, there was no guy with a “large shoulder bag;” there was a man with a little satchel that was hanging off his shoulder, but it was smaller than a fanny pack.
  2. You’re going to stand there and tell me all about how illogical it is that I would let him in, when your illogical and irrational ass is going to sit through an entire movie thinking someone might shoot you?
  3. If we keep people from bringing in bags that means it has to be all bags, which means women can’t bring in purses and parents with young children or newborns can’t bring in bags with items they may need for them. (i.e. diaper bags) You try telling a woman she can’t bring her purse in, because I sure as hell don’t want to be the person to do that.
  4. If you had read the story then you would know that the shooter didn’t bring a bag in with him; he bought a ticket and then left out an exit door, which he left propped open, to get his guns and came back in through that door. In that case, there was no bag to check.
  5. Which brings me to the biggest point I would have thrown in this guys face! Had I checked his bag, or told him that he couldn’t bring it in, and he was intent on shooting people, I would have been the first person to be shot in the face. Then he would have continued on and probably still ended up shooting this mother fucker who found it necessary to complain to me about something that I wouldn’t have been able to stop in the first place.

I’m not saying that you shouldn’t be outraged or saddened by what happened, but to produce an irrational fear because of it is ludicrous! If you do that, then eventually it’s going to snowball to where your only option is being agoraphobic. Seriously, you’re going to fear going to a movie because you might be shot; what’s next? Are you going to stop driving your car because there are car accidents? Car accidents are the leading cause of death for people of the ages 5-34, and yet you still drive everywhere. If you stopped driving, then you’d probably take up biking or walking; you’re chance of being hit by a car would probably still be higher than that of you being shot. How about your kids? There have been more than a few shootings at schools; are you going to keep them out of school?

Violent and tragic things are going to happen, and to be honest with you, there is no way to stop them. Don’t ever be afraid of something that might happen, it won’t get you anywhere in life. Maybe it will save you from death, but it will also keep you from truly living your life. Isn’t that just a really drawn out death?

“Neither a man nor a crowd nor a nation can be trusted to act humanely or to think sanely under the influence of a great fear.”
― Bertrand Russell

Leave a Reply

