Change is Gonna Come

Standard

I’m amazed at people who deal so well with change or even go out of their way to find it, because I am definitely not one of those people. I stay up all night worrying about what my future holds and what I’m going to do, and then there are the people who just roll with the punches. I need to learn to stop worrying.

My parents recently told me that they were moving back to Arkansas after I graduate from college in December, and I realized that my future was coming at me head on. If you’ve been reading my blog from the beginning then you’ll know that I still live with my parents, happily so; them moving means I’ve finally got to get my shit together and start planning what I’m going to do after I graduate. Granted, I’m making it sound like I have no plans at all; I do, I have plans and an outline of what I want to do but I guess now it seems a lot more urgent than before.

Now most people are ashamed to admit they still live with their parents when they’re 21, but I’m the complete opposite. I’m a realistic person and I know that I don’t make enough money to completely support myself without feeling some sense of worry. Why put all that pressure on myself when I have two of the most wonderful parents in the world who will let me live with them and, if we’re being honest, want me to. You might be thinking to yourself, “Oh I doubt they actually want you to still live with them,” but trust me when I tell you that they do. When they first told me, both my mom and stepdad asked me if I’d be moving with them; it could’ve been because I currently live with them and they didn’t think I’d be able to afford living on my own, but I truly think they won’t know what to do when I’m gone. I’m their favorite child, and their my favorite people in the whole world, so it works for us. Most of the time I’ll be back in my room where they never see me, but no matter what, my parents and I eat dinner together almost every night and they’ve always had the option of yelling at me to come hangout with them if they missed me. Last week, I talked about how I spend almost 75% of my time, if not more, with my parents or sibling; what do I do when they move?

If you read this and you’re one of those kids who talks about how annoying your parents are or how much you want to move out, then you should take a long look at your life; make sure you aren’t being an arrogant little asshole who thinks they know better than their parents, because chances are your parents are probably really great people who are just trying to raise a decent and respectable human being. I’m grateful for the type of people that my parents are, and the way they’ve handled raising me and my siblings. Seriously, don’t ever take your parents for granted; sure, they can be annoying at times and give you too many rules, but I’d like to see you do a better job at raising a bunch of little brats.

The second hardest part about my parents moving, which leads me to finding a job and a place to live in a new city is leaving friends behind. I’m terrible at making new friends! The only way I’ve made new friends is because I was forced to be with them for at least 6 months or more through work or school; that’s how long it takes me to get used to someone. I make friends in a way that is opposite from other people; most people are friendly with everyone at first and then stop being friends, only after that person does something to ruin the friendship. I am friendly with no one and only become friends with someone if they do something I deem acceptable of friendship. I think it’s safe to say that it’s going to be a long road of finding friends in a new city, especially since I don’t do things that makes it easier to find friends. For example, I don’t drink and drinking is usually a social factor that people use to make friends. How does anyone make new friends? Honestly, I am looking forward to starting my career and truly being a grown up…it just doesn’t sound like it.

Change sucks. Growing up sucks. Reality sucks.

Leave a Reply

