My Biggest Flaw?

Standard

I think I’ve found the one aspect of myself that will be my down fall in life: I have too high of expectations for people; I would have said that I expect too much of people, but I don’t think I do. I just think that people should have a certain level of respect and common decency when it’s called for. If that’s asking too much of people then something is seriously wrong with mankind these days. It shouldn’t be a surprise that I had this epiphany after an incident with my brother, who might be the most lacking in respect, decency, and overall consideration for others.

Overall most people would say that I’m a bitch, and I normally wholeheartedly agree with them. However, I think it’s my sense of humor that makes me seem bitchy; I’ve worked hard at perfecting that sense of humor, so I appreciate that people see it for what it’s worth. That being said, apart from my sense of humor I take a lot of pride in my beliefs and morals. I 100% think that people owe it to themselves and others, for the most part, to be respectful and think of other people when they say or do something. I’m not saying that you shouldn’t do things for yourself all the time because of the effect that it will have on someone else, but if the situation calls for a little respect or consideration then don’t over look it. I’m mainly speaking about occasions with strangers or elders, because these days even I can’t take my peers seriously enough to give some of them respect….let’s be honest.

My most recent example goes back to the story about my brother, and his terrific girlfriend. It was 11:30 at night and I’m laying in bed watching TV trying to go to sleep and I hear one of the dogs running up and down the hallway that leads to my bedroom. My first thought is that the dog needs to pee or that there is a legitimate reason for it freaking out; I walk out into the hallway and then I clue into what’s happening. My brother’s girlfriend is repeatedly saying, “Where’s Justin?” They’re playing a fucking game with the dog, in the house, at 11:30 at night, while my parents are sleeping in the next room. Forget about the fact that it annoys the living hell out of me, because I don’t usually get to sleep until 1:00 in the morning anyways, but my parents went to bed around 9:00 and are sleeping in the next room over. Whether or not they can actually hear what’s going on isn’t the point; the point is that they’re fucking around with the dog with the knowledge that it might wake them up. Not to mention, my stepdad repeatedly tells my brother not to play with the dogs in the house, but once they aren’t around it’s like all rules go out the window. I go back to the beginning of this post…I really don’t think it’s asking too much for people to recognize that shit like that isn’t respectful and is completely inconsiderate, and to not do it! It’s not just my brother though, I think a lot of people are too caught up in themselves to give even a second of time to think about the things they could and should be doing in regards to other people. I’m not telling you all to go out and volunteer and adopt highways or anything, because that would be incredibly hypocritical of me; I’m saying get down to the basics of humanity and do your best to be a decent human being. Hold doors open for people, say please and thank you, respect the rules people put in place, and stop being assholes.

“When they discover the center of the universe, a lot of people will be disappointed to discover they are not it.” – Bernard Bailey

Maybe it’s because my parents instilled a certain set of morals, rules of life, into me that I just assume that other people’s parents did the same for them. I’m obviously dead wrong on that count if my brother, who was raised by the same parents and taught the same lessons as me, can’t hold up to those standards. I certainly hope that there are more people out there who think like me, and I just haven’t met them yet.

Leave a Reply

