Storytime with Alex: Roommate Woes

Standard

If you’ve been paying attention to the blog the last week or so, you’ll notice that Amanda and I have started a M/W/F schedule with our posts. You also may have noticed (I doubt it) that I didn’t put one up yesterday. That is because I felt like death. Why did I feel like death, you ask (you didn’t)? I’ll tell you. But I’ll start with a little background info.

First, you should know that I have three roommates. Second, you need to know what the layout of our dorm looks like.

 

Last week I was home for Thanksgiving break, but the week before that it was just me and one of my other roommates, we’ll call her Jess. The other two were at home all week dealing with personal things. On Monday the 14th, she had some friends over all day. Obviously I didn’t mind. She’s allowed to have friends and they didn’t bother me. But then I woke up the next morning and they had stayed the night. And the living area was a disaster. And they had stayed the night.

Things only got worse from there. This was a recurring pattern. Her friends stayed the night all week (you’re only allowed to have people stay three nights at the most, or they are considered to be living there). I would leave my dorm and leave it empty, and when I came back her friends were there, but my roommate was not. I didn’t think they would take anything, but it’s still unsettling to have strangers in my “house”. I should also mention that when I cleaned up before the break I found clumps of weave all over the counter. It was disgusting.

Then on Friday one of my other roommates (we’ll call her Ann) came back from home. She came into my room and told me that Jess’s friends had used her towels and that there were make up stains all over them. They stayed the next few days and then we had our Thanksgiving break. Jess and her friends came back late Sunday night and dropped off all their luggage and crap here, making the living area a disaster again. That night I went to sleep around 11:30. It had taken me a really long time to fall asleep, so you can imagine how unhapy I was when I woke up an hour later because Jess and her friends were being so incredibly loud. Now take this time to look back at the picture of our floor plan. The door between the living area and the sinks is incredibly heavy. That door was closed, as was the one to my door. But I still heard them. After trying to fall asleep over their noise for about 10 minutes, I finally got up and asked them to be quiet. They did, and I was able to fall back asleep.

Then there was last night. The entire day had been a pile of shit already. So I was excited to go to bed and start another day. On Tuesdays and Thursdays I have an 8am class which requires me to wake up at 7:30. After another struggle to fall asleep, I was awoken yet again. This time at 2:30am. And this time I didn’t fall back asleep for two hours. Meaning I only got about five ours of sleep. “Oh, that’s plenty of sleep”, you say. Not for me. I literally cannot function like a proper human being with less than 7 hours of sleep. This time they didn’t continue being loud so I didn’t tell them to be quiet. But that’s not the point. It’s not just me. She’s waking my other two roommates up too. We shouldn’t have to tell her to shut up because she lives with three other people. Which means she should be considerate enough to know that she shouldn’t be obnoxiously loud in the wee hours of the morning.

I guess the point of this story/rant was that people piss me the fuck off, and today was terrible.

Toodles.

Leave a Reply

