My Top Five Favorite Movies

Standard

So yesterday I watched this video by my favorite author/person ever. In that video he discussed his top five films, and I thought I would do the same. I tend to like movies that people don’t like very much, or would never put in their top list. So yeah. Here we go.

Number 5: The Lion King

I should start off by saying I pick my favorite movies by how many times I could watch them and still enjoy doing it. Lion King is a movie that, for me, will never get old. Sometimes I’ll watch a movie for a fourth or fifth time and about halfway through just get bored. That has never happened with Lion King or any other movie on this list. This movie is not only a big part of my childhood, but whenever I’m in a bad mood I can watch or even just sing the songs from this movie and I’ll feel so much better. Also, it’s just really really good and I don’t know how anybody could not like it.

Number Four: Harvey

Affable tippler Elwood P. Dowd (James Stewart) lives with his sister, Veta (Josephine Hull), and her bashful daughter. They hate his drinking, but what rankles them more is his faithful companion: a 6-foot-tall invisible rabbit named Harvey. Elwood’s embarrassing flight of fancy is foiling Veta’s plans to marry off her daughter, so Veta decides to commit Elwood. But when she confesses she’s seen Harvey, the doctor institutionalizes Veta instead! (Netflix description)

I actually just watched this movie for the first time last night, but it made it onto this list so easily. James Stewart portrays one of the most lovable film characters I’ve ever seen. It’s heartwarming and funny, and you can’t help but fall in love with Elwood P. Dowd and his invisible rabbit. Something else that factors into my love for a movie is if it can make feel a range of emotions, and Harvey definitely fit that criteria. It’s on Netflix instant stream, and if you have and hour and forty five minutes to spare you should use that time to watch this film.

Number Three: Ferris Bueller’s Day Off

I know. Every teenager with a “rebellious” side loves this movie. But if you remember two of my criteria for loving a movie, you’ll see that this fits both of mine. Between watching it with my friends, on TV, or on my iPod I can’t count how many times I’ve seen this movie. I never get bored with it and the jokes make me laugh every time. Also, this has got to be one of the most quotable movies ever. When I first watched it in like eighth grade, I just remember my best friend and I spending the entire day spouting off lines from this movie.

Number Two: The Princess Bride

This was my favorite movie for a very long time before my now favorite movie was my favorite. This movie is just there greatest story ever told, and I would suggest you also read the book because it’s just as good if not better. I think my favorite thing about this movie is the cast. They all work so wonderfully together, and each actor was perfect for their character. It also has something for everybody. Romance, comedy, and a little action. And it’s just a beautifully shot film. If you’ve never seen it because you thought it was too boring I suggest you just give it a decent chance. What will it hurt?

Number One: 500 Days of Summer

I don’t think anything could replace this as my favorite movie, although I did say that about Princess Bride…

But seriously. This movie, for me, has everything. Great story, good dialogue, and the stars are two of my favorite people in the world. Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Zooey Deschanel are just perfect together. I think a lot of girls can relate to the character of Summer, and a lot of guys to Tom. But absolute favorite thing about this movie is the story line. Because it doesn’t end how you think it will (that’s not a spoiler, it says so at the very beginning). It’s not a super duper gooey love story. It’s real, and it’s absolutely perfect.

And that’s it. If you’re reading this feel free to comment on any of my choices, or talk about your list.

Toodles.

Leave a Reply

