Occupy This

Standard

So I’m putting off writing a 7-15 page research paper (not sure why there is even a choice for how long it can be. Who chooses to write 15 pages for funsies?) because procrastination is something I’m extremely good at. Hell, I’ll start doing chores around the house if it means putting off something school related. It’s a strange logic, but I can’t help it.

Also, can I just say that I’m not a fan of the word putting; it’s weird to me. Anyways, let’s get on with the post.

I am so fed up with this Occupy (insert whatever fucking city is doing one right now) bullshit. I understand that all of these people are fighting for something they believe in, and I’m not saying that people don’t have the right to do that, but do they actually think they are accomplishing something. I feel like no matter where you go or what group you look at, there will always be a small group that has more power/money than everybody else. I don’t know, I’m not too interested in what they’re saying; me being the cynic that I am, I feel like most of the things that need to be changed won’t be changed in my lifetime. I know, I’m a bit of a Negative Nancy/Debbie Downer.

Honestly, I’m really just pissed off about the one that is on my campus right now. I don’t want to have to pass them, Occupy Denton, every day in their fucking tents and listen to them playing their fucking drums.

You want to put up signs saying that you all have jobs blah blah blah, well then go do them. Why are you sitting around all day not accomplishing anything? I didn’t have a problem with them acting like morons when they were on a part of campus where no one ever saw them, but now I have to pass by them everyday and I just get frustrated. If they want to fight for something, then why can’t they do something more productive then just camping out for weeks on end. It’s drawing attention, sure, but not the kind of attention that is going to get them the changes they want. Recently, whenever bad weather hits Denton I get a secret pleasure out of it because I think to myself, “I hope those fuckers are having fun in their tents” or “I hope their tents are being blown over right now!”

In an article I read yesterday, someone from the Occupy Denton camp said, “if you’re a college student and you’re not fighting for something then you’re missing out on part of your college experience.”

I wanted to punch whoever said that, because to me, what they’re doing isn’t fighting at all. They’re acting like children, you know the ones that sit on the ground and don’t move when you tell them to do something. Why don’t you do something more productive with your protesting? Also, if that’s what the college experience is then I’m sure as hell missing out, and gladly so. I’d rather sleep in my bed and not make an ass out of myself daily fighting for something that’s not going to change by the actions I’m taking.

One thought on “Occupy This

Leave a Reply

