You’ve Got a Friend in Me

Standard

I’m curious about how many of you saw the title and sang those words, possibly thinking of Toy Story, instead of reading them.

Anyways, down to business. Alex posted the second edition of College Kid Issues yesterday, so I decided to talk about something different. I was sitting in my psych class, hardly paying any attention whatsoever, and my teacher started talking about who we surround ourselves with. She said that we tend to surround ourselves with people who are “nourishing,” who make us feel better about ourselves. This brought up something I usually think about, and I thought I’d share it with the few of you who actually read this blog. This is all going to sound extremely conceited, but it’s not meant to come across that way.

I often wonder how it is that I have friends or how people can keep on putting up with me; I am the complete opposite of what one considers a “nourishing” person. I’m sarcastic, critical and I make people laugh at the expense of other’s. I am an equal opportunist when it comes to making fun of people though, which is maybe why people continue to stand me and my “abuse.”

Any time my friends and I talk about people being mean or cruel I always bring up myself and mention that I could often be seen that way, but then we all come to the conclusion that since I’m funny it doesn’t really count. I’m not going to be modest and tell you that I don’t think I’m funny; you bet your ass I think I’m funny. I’ve worked long and hard at perfecting my timing and perfecting the art of sarcasm, so why wouldn’t I be proud of it. I always wonder where the sarcasm and the critiquing came from, when it started exactly, but I cannot, for the life of me, figure it out. I don’t do it out of malicious intent, and most people realize that when they’re around me, but it wouldn’t surprise me if people often took it to heart and were upset by the things I said. Although, I make it a rule of mine to never attack physical things, or things people can’t change about themselves; I feel like that crosses the line, but everything else is fair game.

Around me, if you make one silly comment, ask a stupid question, or make a ridiculous mistake I will make fun of you…it’s inevitable. It usually goes a little something like this….

                         

I’ve honestly tried not being that person and it is extremely difficult for me, it’s not in my nature to be that happy-go-lucky, always nice, always smiles kind of person. I won’t lie and say I’ve never thought about what my life would be like, or the kind of friends I would have, if I was nicer and happier all the time. I always come to the same conclusion; I like who I am! I love making people laugh, and as long as I can make fun of someone and still be able to make them laugh a minute afterwards by making fun of someone else I think I should just keep on truckin’. I’ve got to be doing something right if the people I’m around the most can still see me and not punch me in the face.

I’m sure the only reason I have actual, true friends is because I’ve been lucky enough to find people like me (sarcastic assholes) or people who look past the constant harassment and see the other parts of me. Honestly, I always joke around about how I have no soul and no emotions, but I actually really like to help people out, give advice, lend a hand….but don’t tell anyone else I told you that.

EDIT

As I was driving home today and thinking about this post I remembered one important thing that I should tell you, and I think it’s the strangest part. The people who usually talk to me or hangout with me, especially in high school, are some of the nicest people I’ve ever met. Seriously, biggest sweethearts in the world and that’s why I’m so confused in the first place. If anyone can tell me why it is that these kinds of people would want to hangout with/talk with me please let me know.

Leave a Reply

